Who Are We?

In 1909 Willie Park Jnr designed Mid Kent Golf Club’s first course and it was first played on in July the same year. The Club was officially opened by the Rt Hon A J Balfour and Mr Littleton MP playing with Harry Vardon and James Braid.

The Club’s first president was Earl Darnley who was better known for his cricketing skills, Captaining both Kent County Cricket Club and England Cricket. 

Since opening over a century ago, the course’s layout and direction has changed three times. 1969 was the last time it was changed. 

Over the years several sporting heroes and celebrities have played the course.  We have been lucky enough to hose Tony Jacklin & Peter Oosterhuis plus many more. 

The Club currently has 820 playing and social members and is managed by the Board of Directors who are:

Steve Davies: Chairman.

Mark Davis: Captain.

Paul James: Vice Captain.

Tony Jago: President.

Caroline Greenfield: Director of Social Events and Communication.

Steve Barrow: Director of Competitions.

Christine Waghorne: Director of Finance & Vice Chairman

Anne Oxtoby: Director of Membership.

Bruce Galbraith: Director of Greens.

Nick Ralph: Director of House

Peter Lake: Director of Range & Practice Facilities